National Association of Agricultural Educators





Minutes 2024 NAAE Convention – Business Sessions San Antonio, Texas

Wednesday, December 4, 2024

During the opening general session of the 2024 NAAE Convention in San Antonio, Texas, on Wednesday, December 4, 2024, NAAE President Eric Tilleman presented the report of the NAAE board nominating committee regarding the offices of 2024-25 NAAE President and President Elect. The board nominated Bill Newsom for 2024-25 NAAE President. The board nominated Cameron Dale and Jeff Voris for 2024-25 NAAE President Elect. The delegates placed no other names in nomination during this session.

Thursday, December 5, 2024

During the second general session and luncheon at the 2024 NAAE Convention in San Antonio, Texas, on Thursday, December 5, 2024, a motion was made, seconded, and carried to close nominations and to officially enter these individuals into nomination for the respective offices: Bill Newsom for 2024-25 NAAE President; Cameron Dale and Jeff Voris for 2024-25 NAAE President Elect.

Friday, December 6, 2024

During the final session of the 2024 NAAE Convention in San Antonio, Texas, on Friday, December 6, 2024, the following business was transacted.

President Eric Tilleman called the meeting to order at 3:05 p.m.

Eric Tilleman introduced Sharon Metzger (AZ) to present reflections.

Eric Tilleman introduced LeAnn Curry to bring greetings from the Association for Career and Technical Education.

Eric Tilleman introduced Aaron Geiman to recognize the Ideas Unlimited and Teacher Mentor award winners.

Eric Tilleman introduced Bill Newsom to recognize the 2024 Teachers Turn the Key cohort and the XLR8 professional development cohort.

Eric Tilleman introduced the committee chairs to provide an update for the Advocacy in Ag Ed, Financial Review, Member Experience, Professional Development, and Teacher Recruitment,



National Association of Agricultural Educators

www.naae.org | #TeachAg

Retention, and Recognition committees.

Alissa Smith recognized the two outgoing regional vice presidents, Cameron Dale and Jeff Voris. Both Jeff and Cameron were awarded life membership in NAAE and presented a Life Membership Clock.

Alissa Smith recognized Eric Tilleman as the outgoing president. Alissa presented Eric an outgoing president plaque. Eric then delivered his outgoing president remarks.

Eric Tilleman announced there were 212 official voting delegates that voted electronically. For a majority, 106 votes would be needed; for a two-thirds majority, 143 votes would be needed.

Eric Tilleman appointed Daniel Foster (PA) to be parliamentarian.

The voting was conducted electronically at the Assembly of Delegates and all votes being submitted by official voting delegates. Eric Tilleman announced the results of the voting as follows:

- -Bill Newsom was elected as 2024-25 NAAE President.
- -Cameron Dale was elected as the 2024-25 NAAE President-Elect

Eric Tilleman then recognized the outgoing regional vice presidents and regional secretaries and welcomed the new regional vice presidents and regional secretaries.

Eric Tilleman then installed the 2024-25 NAAE officers, including the new president, Bill Newsom (TN), the new president elect, Cameron Dale (OK), and the new regional vice presidents who were Lauren Emerson (LA), Region II Vice President, and John Hammond (KY), Region IV Vice President.

Newly elected president Bill Newsom then presented to Eric Tilleman a retiring president's gaveland a plaque for the school system to recognize Eric Tilleman years of service to NAAE.

NAAE President Bill Newsom delivered his inaugural remarks.

With no further business to transact, NAAE President Bill Newsom declared the meeting adjourned at 4:51 p.m.