National Association of Agricultural Educators





Minutes 2024 NAAE Convention NAAE Board of Directors Meeting Pre-Convention Meeting December 2, 2024

The NAAE Board of Directors conducted a pre-convention board of directors meeting in San Antonio, Texas on December 2, 2024. Board members in attendance included: Eric Tilleman (MT), President; Bill Newsom (TN), President-Elect; Deanna Schnuck (MO), Past President; Kyle Stapleton (ID), Region I Vice President; Cameron Dale (OK), Region II Vice President; Paul Aarsvold (MN), Region III Vice President; Jeff Voris (MO), Region IV Vice President; Nelson McCracken (GA), Region V Vice President; Aaron Geiman (MD), Region VI Vice President; and Alissa Smith (KY), NAAE Chief Executive Officer. Additional individuals present included: Sharon Metzer (AZ), Region I Secretary, Lauren Emerson (LA), Region II Secretary, Desi Severance (SD) Region III Secretary, John Hammond (KY), Region IV Secretary, Ruby McCracken (GA), Region V Secretary, and Darla Romberger (PA), Region VI Secretary.

The minutes of the meeting are as follows:

- 1. **Call to Order** –President Eric Tilleman called the board meeting to order at 8:30 a.m. Central time on Monday, December 2, 2024.
- 2. **Reflections/Pledge** Bill Newsom, President Elect, provided reflection and led the Pledge of Allegiance for the group.
- 3. **Review and Adjust Agenda** Bill Newsom moved, Paul Aarsvold seconded, to approve the agenda with flexibility. Motion carried.
- 4. **NAAE Membership Report & Delegate Count** Alissa Smith provided an update on membership as end of November 2024 and reported on the number of delegates for the official voting.
- 5. **NAAE Convention Overview** Alissa Smith went over aspect of the NAAE Convention, provided context and overviews of all sessions and duties of the board and answered questions.
- 6. **Board Nominating Committee** Deanna Schnuck nominated Bill Newsom for 2024-25 President. It was seconded by Kyle Stapleton. Nomination passed. Cameron Dale nominted Jeff Voris for President Elect, and it was seconded by Paul Aarsvold. Jeff Voris nominated Cameron Dale for President Elect and it was seconded by Aaron Geiman. Nominated passed. Eric Tilleman will report the Board Committee Report to the delegation at the first session of the convention.
- 7. **NAAE Representatives of Ag Ed Board Positions** Paul Aarsvold moved that Nelson McCracken serve as the representative to the FFA Alumni & Supporters Council, Aaron Geiman seconded. Motion passed. Deanna Schnuck moved that Paul Aarsvold serve as



National Association of Agricultural Educators

www.naae.org | #TeachAg

the representative to the National FFA Board of Directors, Aaron Geiman seconded. Motion passed.

- 8. **Ag Ed Summit Review** Alissa Smith reported on what to expect at the Summit and encouraged everyone to be engaged.
- 9. **New Business** Kyle Stapleton moved, Paul Aarsvold seconded, to have a raffle fundraising activity and provide the funds to the Ag Ed Relief Fund with \$100 given to winner at luncheon and \$200 given to winner at last session. Motion passed.
- 10. **Adjournment** With no further business to be transacted at this time, Kyle Stapleton moved, Paul Aarsvold seconded, to adjourn the meeting. The meeting adjourned at 1:49 p.m. Central time.