Minutes NAAE Board of Directors Conference Call February 7, 2018

The NAAE Board of Directors conducted a board conference call meeting on February 7, 2018. Board members in attendance included: Nick Nelson (OR), President; Jason Kemp (TN), President Elect; Chad Massar (MT), Region I Vice President; Hals Beard (LA), Region II Vice President; Mary Hoffmann (MN), Region III Vice President; Parker Bane (IL), Region IV Vice President; Stan Scurlock (FL), Region V Vice President; and Sherisa Nailor (PA), Region VI Vice President; and Wm. Jay Jackman (KY), NAAE Executive Director. NAAE staff members, Alissa Smith (KY), Associate Executive Director, and Katie Wood (KY), Meeting Planner/Program Assistant, also joined the conference call.

The minutes of the meeting are as follows:

- **1.** Call to Order President Nick Nelson called the meeting to order at 4:05 p.m. and welcomed everyone to the meeting.
- 2. Approval of NAAE Awards Applications Alissa Smith presented the revised NAAE awards applications as recommended by the *ad hoc* awards revision committee and the board of directors. Sherisa Nailor moved, Stan Scurlock seconded, to approve the revised applications as presented; the motion carried.
- **3. Approval of Agriscience Teacher Fellows Initiative** Jay Jackman and Alissa Smith discussed changing the Agriscience Teacher of the Year award program to the Agriscience Teacher Fellows initiative, as one part of a larger agriscience initiative. The National FFA Foundation has provided approval to use the sponsorship dollars accordingly. Hals Beard moved, Sherisa Nailor seconded, to eliminate the Agriscience Teacher of the Year award program and to create the Agriscience Teacher Fellows program in its place; the motion carried. The board will review and discuss further the plans for the Agriscience Teacher Fellows program at the March 2018 board meeting.
- **4.** Adjournment With no further official business to be transacted, Stan Scurlock moved, Hals Beard seconded, to adjourn the meeting; the motion carried. President Nick Nelson adjourned the meeting at 4:59 p.m.