Minutes 2018 NAAE Convention—Business Sessions San Antonio, Texas

Wednesday, November 28, 2018

During the opening general session of the 2018 NAAE Convention in San Antonio, Texas, on Wednesday, November 28, 2018, NAAE President Nick Nelson presented the report of the NAAE board nominating committee regarding the offices of 2018-19 NAAE President and President Elect. The board nominated Jason Kemp for 2018-19 NAAE President. The board nominated Hals Beard and Parker Bane for 2018-19 NAAE President Elect. The delegates placed no other names in nomination during this session.

Thursday, November 29, 2018

During the second general session at the 2018 NAAE Convention in San Antonio, Texas, on Thursday, November 29, 2018, a motion was made, seconded, and carried to close nominations and to officially enter these individuals into nomination for the respective offices: Jason Kemp for 2018-19 NAAE President and Hals Beard and Parker Bane for 2018-19 NAAE President Elect.

Saturday, December 1, 2018

During the final session of the 2018 NAAE Convention in San Antonio, Texas, on Saturday, December 1, 2018, the following business was transacted.

President Nick Nelson called the meeting to order at 8:00 a.m.

Nick Nelson introduced LeAnn Wilson to bring greetings from the Association for Career and Technical Education.

Nick Nelson introduced Eric Tilleman (MT) to present reflections.

Nick Nelson seated the official convention delegates and established the counts needed for majority and two-thirds majority votes. There were 173 official voting delegates present. For a majority, 87 votes would be needed; for a two-thirds majority, 116 votes would be needed.

Nick Nelson appointed Barb Lemmer (IA) to be parliamentarian. Nick Nelson announced that the Committee of Tellers would be Sam Herringshaw, chair (OR); Daryl Beal (AL); Cameron Dale (OK), and Riley Hintzsche (IL).

Nick Nelson conducted the voting for the office of NAAE president elect.

It was properly moved and seconded to elect Jason Kemp as 2018-19 NAAE President; the motion carried.

Nick Nelson introduced Ellen Thompson, National Teach Ag Campaign Director, to deliver an update on the activities of the National Teach Ag Campaign.

The NAAE board members recognized the 2018 Teachers Turn the Key cohort, sponsored by RAM, as a special project of the National FFA Foundation. Matt Blanchard, Area RAM Manager, addressed the group on behalf of RAM.

Nick Nelson called on the committee chairs to present the updates from the seven standing committees, as follows:

Finance—Kris Beaver (WI) presented the update and moved to accept the update. There was an implied second and the motion carried.

Marketing—Todd Thomas (CO) presented the update and moved to accept the update. There was an implied second and the motion carried.

Member Services—Laurie Emerson (LA) presented the update and moved to accept the update. There was an implied second and the motion carried.

Policy and Bylaws—Brittany Kloer (IN) presented the update and moved to accept the update. There was an implied second and the motion carried.

Professional Growth—Roger King (WI) presented the update and moved to accept the update. There was an implied second and the motion carried.

Public Policy—Linda Sattler (WI) presented the update and moved to accept the update. There was an implied second and the motion carried.

Strategic Planning—Stephanie Jolliff (OH) presented the update and moved to accept the update. There was an implied second and the motion carried.

Nick Nelson then opened the floor for other business. There was no other business presented for consideration.

Jay Jackman recognized the two outgoing regional vice presidents, Hals Beard and Parker Bane, and their families. Both Hals Beard and Parker Bane were awarded life membership in NAAE and presented an appreciation plaque.

Jay Jackman recognized Nick Nelson, and his family, as the outgoing president. Jay presented Nick an outgoing president plaque. Nick then delivered his outgoing president remarks.

Nick Nelson then recognized the outgoing regional vice presidents and regional secretaries and welcomed the new regional vice presidents and regional secretaries.

Nick Nelson announced the results of the voting for NAAE president elect. Parker Bane (IL) was elected 2018-19 NAAE President Elect.

Nick Nelson then installed the 2018-19 NAAE officers, including the new president, Jason Kemp (TN), the new president elect, Parker Bane (IL), and the new regional vice presidents who were Todd Thomas (CO), Region II Vice President, and Deanna Thies (MO), Region IV Vice President.

Newly elected president Jason Kemp then presented to Nick Nelson a retiring president's gavel, a commemorative wrist watch, and a plaque for the school system to recognize Nick's years of service to NAAE.

NAAE President Jason Kemp delivered his inaugural remarks.

With no further business to transact, NAAE President Jason Kemp declared the meeting adjourned at 9:25 a.m.