Minutes 2020 NAAE Virtual Convention—Business Sessions

Tuesday, December 1, 2020

During the opening general session of the 2020 NAAE Virtual Convention, on Tuesday, December 1, 2020, NAAE President Parker Bane presented the report of the NAAE board nominating committee regarding the offices of 2020-21 NAAE President and President Elect. The board nominated Sherisa Nailor for 2020-21 NAAE President. The board nominated Mary Hoffmann and Stan Scurlock for 2020-21 NAAE President Elect. The delegates placed no other names in nomination during this session.

Wednesday, December 2, 2020

During the second general session at the 2020 NAAE Virtual Convention, on Tuesday, December 2, 2020, a motion was made, seconded, and carried to close nominations and to officially enter these individuals into nomination for the respective offices: Sherisa Nailor for 2020-21 NAAE President and Mary Hoffmann and Stan Scurlock for 2020-21 NAAE President Elect.

There were 196 official voting delegates for this annual business meeting. As per regulations governing California corporations, all delegates had given written consent to conduct the NAAE annual business meeting virtually.

Voting for the offices of NAAE president and president elect was conducted electronically through a secure on-line voting system. Voting opened at 6:00 pm on Wednesday, December 2, and closed at 3:00 pm on Friday, December 4.

The Committee of Tellers had been pre-appointed, as follows: Jeff Voris, chair (MO); Krista Pontius (PA); Shari Graffunder (WI), and Jason Kemp (TN).

Friday, December 4, 2020

During the final session of the 2020 NAAE Virtual Convention, on Friday, December 4, 2020, the following business was transacted.

President Parker Bane called the meeting to order at 6:01 p.m.

Jeff Voris, NAAE Region IV Secretary, delivered reflections. The participants were led by FFA members in reciting the Pledge of Allegiance to the United States of America.

LeAnn Wilson brought greetings from the Association for Career and Technical Education.

The 2020 Teachers Turn the Key and XLR8 program participants were recognized.

Ellen Thompson, National Teach Ag Campaign Director, delivered an update on the activities of the National Teach Ag Campaign and the 2020 Teach Ag Champions were recognized.

The 2020 Lifetime Achievement Award, Outstanding Service Citation Award, and Outstanding Cooperation Award recipients were recognized.

The 2019-20 membership award recipients and the Professional State Association award recipients were recognized.

Jay Jackman recognized the two outgoing regional vice presidents, Mary Hoffmann and Stan Scurlock. Both Mary Hoffmann and Stan Scurlock were awarded life membership in NAAE and presented an appreciation plaque.

Jay Jackman recognized Parker Bane as the outgoing president. Jay presented Parker an outgoing president plaque and a plaque for the school system to recognize Parker's years of service to NAAE.

Parker Bane delivered his outgoing president remarks.

Parker Bane recognized Jay Jackman, for nearly 25 years as the NAAE executive director. Jay will retire from this position on December 31, 2020.

Parker Bane then recognized the current regional vice presidents and regional secretaries and welcomed the new regional vice presidents and regional secretaries. Newly elected regional vice presidents were Shari Graffunder (WI), Region III, and Bill Newsom (TN), Region V. Newly elected regional secretaries were Paul Aarsvold (MN), Region III, and Nelson McCracken (GA), Region V.

Parker Bane announced the results of the voting for NAAE president elect. Sherisa Nailor (PA) was elected 2020-21 NAAE President. Stan Scurlock (FL) was elected 2020-21 NAAE President Elect.

Parker Bane then installed the 2020-21 NAAE officers, including the new president, Sherisa Nailor (PA), the new president elect, Stan Scurlock (FL), and the new regional vice presidents who were Shari Graffunder (WI), Region III Vice President, and Bill Newsom (TN), Region V Vice President.

Newly elected president Sherisa Nailor thanked Parker Bane, the outgoing president, and delivered her inaugural remarks.

With no further business to transact, NAAE President Sherisa Nailor declared the business meeting and convention adjourned at 7:03 p.m.