## Minutes 2021 NAAE Convention—Business Sessions New Orleans, Louisiana

## Wednesday, December 1, 2021

During the opening general session of the 2021 NAAE Convention in New Orleans, Louisiana, on Wednesday, December 1, 2021, NAAE President Sherisa Nailor presented the report of the NAAE board nominating committee regarding the offices of 2021-22 NAAE President and President Elect. The board nominated Stan Scurlock for 2021-22 NAAE President. The board nominated Todd Thomas and Deanna Thies for 2021-22 NAAE President Elect. The delegates placed no other names in nomination during this session.

## Thursday, December 2, 2021

During the second general session at the 2021 NAAE Convention in New Orleans, Louisiana, on Thursday, December 1, 2021, a motion was made, seconded, and carried to close nominations and to officially enter these individuals into nomination for the respective offices: Stan Scurlock for 2021-22 NAAE President and Todd Thomas and Deanna Thies for 2021-22 NAAE President Elect.

## Friday, December 3, 2021

During the final session of the 2021 NAAE Convention in New Orleans, Louisiana, on Friday, December 3, 2021, the following business was transacted.

President Sherisa Nailor called the meeting to order at 3:30 p.m.

Sherisa Nailor introduced LeAnn Wilson to bring greetings from the Association for Career and Technical Education.

Sherisa Nailor introduced Jeff Voris (MO) to present reflections.

Sherisa Nailor announced there were 191 official voting delegates that voted electronically. For a majority, 96 votes would be needed; for a two-thirds majority, 127 votes would be needed.

Sherisa Nailor appointed Daniel Foster (PA) to be parliamentarian. Sherisa Nailor announced that the Committee of Tellers would be Farrah Johnson, chair (FL); Matt Sinclair (CO); and Scott Stone (MO).

The voting was conducted electronically will all votes being submitted by official voting delegates. Sherisa Nailor announced the results of the voting as follows:

- -Stan Scurlock was elected as 2021-22 NAAE President.
- -Deanna Thies was elected as the 2021-22 NAAE President-Elect
- -The bylaws amendment change to Article 5 Section 1 was approved so no it will read
- "Article V BOARD OF DIRECTORS Sec. 1. The President, the President-Elect, and the six Regional Vice Presidents shall constitute the Board of Directors. The Immediate Past President and the Chief Executive Officer shall serve as a non-voting, ex-officio members."

-The NAAE membership dues increase of \$5.00 that would go into effect for the 2022-2023 membership year was unanimously approved.

The NAAE board members recognized the 2021 Teachers Turn the Key cohort, sponsored by RAM, as a special project of the National FFA Foundation.

Sherisa Nailor called on the committee chairs to present the updates from the seven standing committees, as follows:

**Finance**—Marty Jones (OK) presented the update and moved to accept the update. There was an implied second and the motion carried.

**Marketing**—Kim Houser (WI) presented the update and moved to accept the update. There was an implied second and the motion carried.

**Member Services**—Lauren Emerson (LA) presented the update and moved to accept the update. There was an implied second and the motion carried.

**Policy and Bylaws**—Matt Detloff (FL) presented the update and moved to accept the update. There was an implied second and the motion carried.

**Professional Growth**—Annette Weeks (WA) presented the update and moved to accept the update. There was an implied second and the motion carried.

**Public Policy**— Kayla Loewenhagen (WI) presented the update and moved to accept the update. There was an implied second and the motion carried.

**Strategic Planning**— Darla Romberger (PA) presented the update and moved to accept theupdate. There was an implied second and the motion carried.

Sherisa Nailor then opened the floor for other business. There was no other business presented for consideration.

Alissa Smith recognized the two outgoing regional vice presidents, Todd Thomas and Deanna Thies. Both Todd Thomas and Deanna Thies were awarded life membership in NAAE and presented an appreciation plaque.

Alissa Smith recognized Sherisa Nailor as the outgoing president. Alissa presented Sherisa an outgoing president plaque. Sherisa then delivered his outgoing president remarks.

Sherisa Nailor then recognized the outgoing regional vice presidents and regional secretaries andwelcomed the new regional vice presidents and regional secretaries.

Sherisa Nailor announced the results of the voting for NAAE president elect. Deanna Thies (MO) was elected 2021-22 NAAE President Elect.

Sherisa Nailor then installed the 2021-22 NAAE officers, including the new president, Stan Scurlock (FL), the new president elect, Deanna Thies (MO), and the new regional vice presidents

who were Cameron Dale (OK), Region II Vice President, and Jeff Voris (MO), Region IV Vice President.

Newly elected president Stan Scurlock then presented to Sherisa Nailor a retiring president's gaveland a plaque for the school system to recognize Sherisa's years of service to NAAE.

NAAE President Stan Scurlock delivered his inaugural remarks.

With no further business to transact, NAAE President Stan Scurlock declared the meeting adjourned at 5:25 p.m.