Minutes 2022 NAAE Convention—Business Sessions Las Vegas, Nevada

Wednesday, November 30, 2022

During the opening general session of the 2022 NAAE Convention in Las Vegas, Nevada, on Wednesday, November 30, 2022, NAAE President Stan Scurlock presented the report of the NAAE board nominating committee regarding the offices of 2022-23 NAAE President and President Elect. The board nominated Deanna Thies for 2022-23 NAAE President. The board nominated Eric Tilleman and Robin McLean for 2022-23 NAAE President Elect. The delegates placed no other names in nomination during this session.

Thursday, December 1, 2022

During the second general session and luncheon at the 2022 NAAE Convention in Las Vegas, Nevada, on Thursday, December 1, 2022, a motion was made, seconded, and carried to close nominations and to officially enter these individuals into nomination for the respective offices: Deanna Thies for 2022-23 NAAE President and Eric Tilleman and Robin McLean for 2022-23 NAAE President Elect.

Friday, December 2, 2022

During the final session of the 2022 NAAE Convention in Las Vegas, Nevada, on Friday, December 2, 2022, the following business was transacted.

President Stan Scurlock called the meeting to order at 3:30 p.m.

Stan Scurlock introduced LeAnn Curry to bring greetings from the Association for Career and Technical Education.

Stan Scurlock introduced Jeff Voris (MO) to present reflections.

Stan Scurlock announced there were 203 official voting delegates that voted electronically. For a majority, 102 votes would be needed; for a two-thirds majority, 134 votes would be needed.

Stan Scurlock appointed Daniel Foster (PA) to be parliamentarian. Stan Scurlock announced that the Committee of Tellers would be Sherisa Nailor, chair; Darla Romberger, (PA); Chad Masser (MT); and Scott Stone (MO).

The voting was conducted electronically will all votes being submitted by official voting delegates. Stan Scurlock announced the results of the voting as follows:

- -Deanna Thies was elected as 2022-23 NAAE President.
- -Eric Tilleman was elected as the 2022-23 NAAE President-Elect
- -The bylaws amendment change to Article 5 Section 1 was approved so no it will read
- "Article V BOARD OF DIRECTORS Sec. 1. The President, the President-Elect, Immediate Past President, and the six Regional Vice Presidents shall constitute the Board of Directors. The Chief Executive Officer shall serve as a non-voting, ex-officio members."

The NAAE board members recognized the 2022 Teachers Turn the Key cohort, sponsored by RAM, as a special project of the National FFA Foundation.

Stan Scurlock called on Deanna Thies to share about the strategic planning process and what the committees will be considering. committee chairs to present the updates from the seven standing committees, as follows:

Stan Scurlock then opened the floor for other business. There was no other business presented for consideration.

Alissa Smith recognized the two outgoing regional vice presidents, Eric Tilleman and Robin McLEan. Both Eric Tilleman and Robin Mclean were awarded life membership in NAAE and presented an appreciation plaque.

Alissa Smith recognized Stan Scurlock as the outgoing president. Alissa presented Stan an outgoing president plaque. Stan then delivered his outgoing president remarks.

Stan Scurlock then recognized the outgoing regional vice presidents and regional secretaries andwelcomed the new regional vice presidents and regional secretaries.

Stan Scurlock announced the results of the voting for NAAE president elect. Eric Tilleman (MT) was elected 2022-23 NAAE President Elect.

Stan Scurlock then installed the 2022-23 NAAE officers, including the new president, Deanna Thies (MO), the new president elect, Eric Tilleman (MT), and the new regional vice presidents who were Kyle Stapleton (ID), Region I Vice President, and Aaron Geiman (MD), Region VI Vice President.

Newly elected president Deanna Thies then presented to Stan Scurlock a retiring president's gaveland a plaque for the school system to recognize Stan's years of service to NAAE.

NAAE President Deanna Thies delivered his inaugural remarks.

With no further business to transact, NAAE President Deanna Thies declared the meeting adjourned at 5:25 p.m.